New Season of Guinness PRO14 Rugby Kicks Off On TG4 | 2019Press ReleasesPress | Irish Television Channel, Súil Eile | TG4 Skip to main content
Menu

2019

New season of Guinness PRO14 Rugby kicks off on TG4


TG4 will again broadcast 28 live games free to air this season, as well as deferred coverage of a further 9 interprovincial games.

TG4’s Rugbaí Beo is back, starting next Friday 27th September with highlights from Ulster Rugby’s clash against Ospreys at the Kingspan Stadium.  This will be followed by a bumper afternoon of live rugby on Saturday 28th September as Munster host Dragons in Thomond Park, followed by Scarlets v Connacht and finishing off with all the best highlights from the clash between last season’s bolters, Benetton Rugby and Leinster.

 

TG4 will again broadcast 28 live games free to air this season, as well as deferred coverage of a further 9 interprovincial games. A weekly highlights programme will also be broadcast to bring Irish audiences the best action from the Guinness PRO14 Championship. Building on last year’s coverage of behind the scenes ref-briefings, warm-up interviews with head-coaches and audio-snoops on coaches and players, with Máire Treasa Ní Dhubhghaill at the helm and expert analysis from Eimear Considine, Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird, Marcus Horan, Ronan Loughney, Eoghan Ó Neachtain, Eamonn Molloy along with a host of others.

 

The focus will be on the Irish Provinces in the Guinness PRO14 Championship, as Leinster seek an historic treble while Connacht continue to flourish under Andy Friend and will be looking to improve on their top-3 conference finish from last season. Ulster, without talisman Rory Best, will be aiming to go a step further than last season’s semi-final defeat while Munster will be hoping that recent additions to the backroom team of Graham Rowntree and Stephen Larkham can help them break their semi-final hoodoo and progress to the Finals in Cardiff City Stadium for the first time since 2017.

 

Speaking today ahead of the start of the new Rugbaí Beo season, TG4’s Head of Sport, Rónán Ó Coisdealbha said: “It’s with an immense source of pride for TG4 that we embark on another season of Rugbaí Beo, continuing an association with this tournament which stretches back to 2001. The reaction to our free to air coverage of the Guinness PRO14 championship last season was tremendous and we look forward to bringing forward further innovations that will continue to engage audiences and rugby fans for the coming season.”

 

TG4’s Rugbaí Beo coverage includes:

  • Live coverage of all Munster Rugby and Leinster Rugby matches against Welsh opposition.
  • Live coverage of all Connacht Rugby’s home games. Live and exclusive coverage of all Connacht matches against Welsh opposition.

IMAGES AVAILABLE HERE: client.inpho.ie/tg4launch

For more information on all of the coverage of this year’s Guinness PRO14 Rugby season, please visit: tg4.ie/rugbaibeo

 

 

 

Round DATE Kick Off HOME   AWAY LOCATION
1 Saturday 28 September 3:00pm Munster Rugby v Dragons Thomond Park
1 Saturday 28 September 5:15pm Scarlets v Connacht Rugby Parc y Scarlets
2 Friday 4 October 7:35pm Leinster Rugby v Ospreys Rugby RDS Arena
2 Saturday 5 October 7:35pm Connacht Rugby v Benetton Rugby The Sportsground
3 Friday 11 October 7:35pm Dragons v Connacht Rugby Rodney Parade
4 Friday 25 October 7:35pm Munster Rugby v Ospreys Rugby Irish Independent Park
4 Saturday 26 October 5:15pm Connacht Rugby v Toyota Cheetahs The Sportsground
5 Saturday 2 November 5:15pm Ospreys Rugby v Connacht Rugby Liberty Stadium
5 Saturday 2 November 7:35pm Cardiff Blues v Munster Rugby Cardiff Arms Park
6 Friday 8 November 7:35pm Connacht Rugby v Leinster Rugby The Sportsground
7 Saturday 30 November 5:15pm Connacht Rugby v Isuzu Southern Kings The Sportsground
8 Saturday 21 December 5:15pm Connacht Rugby v Munster Rugby The Sportsground
11 Saturday 15 February 7:35pm Connacht Rugby v Cardiff Blues The Sportsground
12 Friday 21 February 7:35pm Ospreys Rugby v Leinster Rugby Liberty Stadium
13 Saturday 29 February 5:00pm Munster Rugby v Scarlets Thomond Park
14 Friday 20 March 7:35pm Connacht Rugby v Scarlets The Sportsground
15 Friday 27 March 7:35pm Munster Rugby v Benetton Rugby Irish Independent Park
16 Friday 10 April 7:35pm Connacht Rugby v Glasgow Warriors The Sportsground
16 Saturday 11 April 3:00pm Munster Rugby v Cardiff Blues Thomond Park
16 Saturday 11 April 5:15pm Leinster Rugby v Zebre Rugby Club RDS Arena
18 Friday 24 April 7:35pm Dragons v Leinster Rugby Rodney Parade
18 Saturday 25 April 7:35pm Connacht Rugby v Ulster Rugby The Sportsground
19 Friday 8 May 7:35pm Cardiff Blues v Connacht Rugby Cardiff Arms Park
19 Saturday 9 May 7:45pm Scarlets v Leinster Rugby Parc y Scarlets
20 Friday 15 May 7:35pm Leinster Rugby v Cardiff Blues RDS Arena
20 Saturday 16 May 5:15pm Scarlets v Munster Rugby Parc y Scarlets
20 Saturday 16 May 7:35pm Connacht Rugby v Edinburgh Rugby The Sportsground
Final Saturday 20 June TBC TBC v TBC Cardiff City Stadium

 

 

 

 

Media Contact:
Kieran Hartigan, Iris Productions | kieran@iris.ie | 086 0631053

Get to know us:

Advertisement